Day 265-2 (F, 120921) — Weekly Workout Summary

Notes.  This week, I moved on to Step 2 of the Push-ups Progression and I attempted the progression standard for the Leg Raise and Handstand progressions.

Review.  This week, I managed to get around to exercising on Wednesday, instead of waiting until Friday morning.  And I got to do them with my kids which is wonderful.  (More on that in a future post.)

I completed everything as planned except the Headstand.  Final performance was as listed in the table except:

  • I did a few extra reps of the Incline Push-ups: 15 instead of 10.  I could probably have done more but decided to go extra slowly with perfect form instead of trying to do 25 or 30 reps.
  • For the Headstand . . . have I mentioned how much I hate being upside-down?  I just couldn’t take it, but it had nothing to do with my shoulders, the body part this progression is supposed to be improving.  I did 60 sec. of Headstand and my neck hurt like hell and my brain wanted to come seeping out my ears.  I did manage to do an extra 30 seconds of Handstand, which was better as it took the pressure off my neck.

Previously, when I was doing Max Capacity Training and Primal Blueprint Fitness, I had worked up to doing Handstand Push-ups.  Only a few, but I did do them.

Moving On.  Because I finished the progression standard for Knee Tucks, next week will I’ll move on to Step 2 – Flat Knee Raise.

Lie flat on the floor, with your legs together and your arms by your side. Bend your knees so that they are at approximately ninety degrees (i.e., a right angle), with the feet an inch or two off the ground. Pressing hard on the floor with your hands will help keep your torso stable. This is the start position. Now smoothly bring your knees up over your hips, so that your thighs are perpendicular to the floor, and your calves are parallel to the floor. Keep the knees at a right angle throughout and exhale as you go, keeping your stomach muscles tight. This is the finish position. Pause for a count of one, before reversing the motion by extending your legs as you lower your feet. Inhale as you return to the start position. After you begin, at no point throughout the movement should your feet touch the floor.

Training Goals:

  • Beginner standard: 1 set of 10
  • Intermediate standard: 2 sets of 20
  • Progression standard: 3 sets of 35

I’m also going to move on to Step 2 of the Handstand Push-up Progression, even though I haven’t successfully completed Step 1.  Next week, I’ll begin the Crow Stand:

Sit down on your haunches with your knees apart. Place your palms on the floor in front of you, at approximately shoulder width distance apart. Your arms should be bent a little. Lean forwards, placing your knees securely on the outside of your elbows. Now gradually continue tipping yourself forward, placing more and more weight through your palms and correspondingly less through your feet. Eventually the point of balance will shift, and your feet will lose contact with the ground. Hoist the legs up tight and balance for the required time, breathing steadily. When you are finished, reverse the movement by gently tipping your weight backwards until your toes come into contact with the floor again.

Training Goals:

  • Beginner standard: 10 seconds
  • Intermediate standard: 30 seconds
  • Progression standard: 1 Minute

Leave a comment if you want . . .