Day 234-2 (T, 120821) — Cheating and Intermittent Fasting

Woops! Wrong Name. Reading the Roman Fitness Systems’ highly informative posts, IF 101 and IF 201, I realized that my normal routine is NOT a LeanGains-style IF regimen but rather a Warrior Diet schedule.  LG is a daily 16-8 program whereas WD is a daily 20-4 program.

Up until now, I’ve called what I do LeanGains because it was closer to my schedule than the eatSTOPeat version (24- to 36-hour fasts once or twice a week) and because I didn’t know about WD.  Now I know.  Warrior Diet it is.

To Free Day or Not to Free Day.  One of the things I really liked about the 4HB program when I started it in January of 2011 was that each week allowed for a Free Day in which you got to eat anything you damn well wanted and were encouraged to go a bit nuts.  It helped convince me to get off my ass and do something because it offered a set reward for my dietary sacrifices during the week.

Yes, I understand that if I were able to stick to a hard-and-fast-eat-what’s-right program many good things would happen: my sweet tooth would (mostly) go away, I’d lose weight and fat faster, etc., but I like my Free Days and I’m gonna take them.

Aside: does anyone have experience with either Cheat Your Way Thin or the Xtreme Fat Loss Diet (both by Joel Marion).

Let the N=1 experiment continue!  While reading that IF 201 post, the author mentions the Feast/Fast approach to IF: take a Cheat Day then fast for a day.

[Why do this?] The abridged version: when you’re dieting, leptin levels drop, which slows down fat loss. When you overfeed (cheat), leptin levels get bumped back up, increasing rate of fat loss. Putting a fast fat after a cheat, therefore, does two things:

1) Prevents any fat gain from the caloric spillover of eating, oh, I dunno, 14,000 calories worth of ice cream by creating an immediate deficit.

2) Elevated leptin levels from the cheat prevent stagnated fat loss, allowing the hormonal benefit from the fast to proceed uninterrupted.

he usually eats breakfast on the second day, making his fast about 32-36 hours. For me, though, I’m going to skip eating today, fast like normal tomorrow, and start up again tomorrow evening when I get home Tuesday evening.

Since my last food intake was Sunday night at about 8 PM, my total fasting time will be closer to 44 hours. This is similar to what I did on Wednesday/Thursday of last week.

I think that adding in this null day will help.  We’ll see.

Upcoming. 

  • Tomorrow’s post is about the Rebel Race.  Preview: it sucked.
  • Next week I’m going to write about reengaging my workout program starting in September.
5 responses to “Day 234-2 (T, 120821) — Cheating and Intermittent Fasting

  1. I think Leangains is also a surplus on training days and deficit on non-training days. The lifting seems kinda baked in to the program to me as well. I think a lot of folks say “Leangains” approach just meaning 16\8 IF, when really the Leangains method, via Martin, is quite a bit more comprehensive that just 16\8 IF.

    Not that it matters at all.

    The Warrior Diet, when I read the book, didn’t track calories at all, the assumption was that since you were only going to eat one meal and only healthy approved foods that you’d not have to worry about tracking calories\macros.

    There was no ‘eating window’ with Warrior Diet, just “eat only one meal”.

    So in the sense that what you were doing wasn’t really “Leangains” I think it’s safe to say what you are doing isn’t really “The Warrior Diet”, either.

    Not that it matters at all. 🙂

    Very interested to hear about the restarted workout program! 🙂

    • Yeah, I was only talking about the timing of my fasting, how long to fast and when to eat, not the whole program. I know LG includes a lot of fasted training (which I did a little back when I was exercising regularly, Primal Blueprint Fitness-style) and other things I did not do. As for Warrior Diet, that post on Roman Fitness Systems was the first I’d heard of it. Should I bother looking into it?

      I know that according to the various low carb diets out there, there’s no important reason to track calories so long as you only eat the right sort of food.

      For me, I find it useful because it makes me focus on how much I eat and helps me avoid my biggest trap: snacking. When I don’t track, I have a tendency to not pay attention to the myriad little bites, licks, and tastes (BLTs) I take. And I have a tendency to eat when I’m bored; if I am tracking, it gives me pause before I pop that single Cheerio (I have kids) or pita chip in my mouth. More often than not, I’ll realize what I’m doing and “put the chip down and step away from the food.” <— imagine that over a bullhorn 😉

      My Rebel Race review is scheduled for this morning and the workout post is coming next week.

      Cheers!

      New John

      • The Warrior Diet I would not both reading. It’s a lot of unessential anecdotes and boils down to “eat only once a day and you can’t really over eat, so just eat one huge meal of whatever you want”.

        • Thanks for the tip, Jonas. That jibes pretty closely with what I’ve read about it.

          Any idea on if it works of not, in your opinion?

          New John

  2. Pingback: Day 256-2 (W, 120912) — My Program | New John for a New Year·

Leave a comment if you want . . .

