Day 213-2 (T, 120731) — Training for a Mud Run

Mud Run’s A-comin’.  I have signed up for the 15k Rebel Race in Dallas on August 18.  I’m in the only 15k heat — 3 PM.

Note to race organizers: making the 15k heat the last one of the day is a HORRIBLE idea.  Experienced mud runners know that earlier heats are better because the course is not so torn up.

Besides that, forcing us to run the longer race at the hottest part of the day over a screwed up course is a really bad idea.

In addition to the increased risk of heat exhaustion, you are increasing the risk of injury to participants by forcing them to run longer, in worse weather, over a compromised course.

I’m already signed up for this year, but if this happens again next year you can bet I will be skipping your event.

If anyone wants to join me, send me an email via my Contact Me page.  If you hurry, you can use Groupon (through midnight, Wed. 8/1) to get a helluva deal on the registration fee: $39 instead of $105.

Obstacles.  Here is the list of obstacles for the event.

List of Obstacles for the Dallas Rebel Race

Training. Since I haven’t really gone running much since March (5 runs/walks in 4 months for only 12.41 mi.), I decided I might want to make sure that running a 9.6 mi. obstacle course in a reasonable time is still within my capabilities.

Seems as though it is. =)

Stats for Today:

  • Distance: 5.84 mi
  • Duration: 1:06:33
  • Average Pace: 11:24 / mi
  • Average Speed: 5.27 mph
  • Calories Burned: 746
  • Climb: 96

Hopefully, it’ll take about two hours, more or less, to run the almost 10 miles, going  over/under/past the obstacles in my way.

I can’t wait.  I love mud runs and haven’t participated in one since last year.

Leave a comment if you want . . .

