Day 062-2 (F, 120302) — Friday Setlist

Personally, I prefer to toss a few wins into the mix, but that’s just me.

Old Tyme Revival.  Today’s NJ4NY brings back a theme from months past: the Friday Setlist.  This time, inspired by this post over at SparkPeople.com,  we rock the mid-90s.

Most of these songs are not workout songs, per se, but just fun tunes to listen to.  They don’t get my blood pumping, so to speak, but they can offer an enjoyable distraction as you do some low-level cardio (hiking, biking, walking, etc.).

Pepper by Butthole Surfers. “…As she was sharin’ Sharon’s outlook on the topic of disease….And then he lost his leg in Dallas, he was dancing with a train….”  Classic.

“….I can taste you on my lips and smell you in my clothes….”  Ah, good times.

Song 2 by Blur.  Yeah, I’ve done this one before, but it’s worth the rerun.

Where’d the name for this song come from?  It was the second song on the album and they had no other name for it.  It’s deliberately 2:02 long.

Tubthumping by Chumbawamba.  Yes.  I just posted that.  What are you gonna do about it?

“I get knocked down, but I get up again / You’re never gonna keep me down…”  This song, and specifically those lines, actually helped keep my spirits up during a rough time in my life.  I get up again.  Count on it.

Zombie by the Cranberries. 

Criminal by Fiona Apple.

I’m Only Happy When it Rains by Garbage.  A low-key fun one from a great album.

Other songs from Garbage:

These Are Days by 10,000 Maniacs.  “These are the days / These are days you’ll remember….” And I do.

Give It Away Now by the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

See also:

(not from the 90s, but still kick-ass songs)

Leave a comment if you want . . .

