Day 044-2 (M, 120213) — A Free Day

“The man is richest whose pleasures are the cheapest.”
Henry David Thoreau*

Freedom!  I took some liberties this weekend.  As usual, I fasted all day on Friday.  That evening, I took Mrs. NJ to our favorite Tex-Mex restaurant and indulged in some chips and queso.  Later, my entrée (Pollo Ahumado) had a sweet and spicy BBQ sauce on it which had more sugar than I expected.**

Grilled chicken breast, stuffed with Monterrey jack cheese and roasted poblano peppers all wrapped in smoky bacon and topped with our spicy barbecue sauce, even more cheese and roasted jalapeños. Served with rice Mexican zucchini and a fresh salad

It was delicious.  Try it if you ever get the chance.

Saturday was my daughter’s birthday party and we had friends over to celebrate.  Per my usual habit, I “moderated” some cake, a bit of ice cream, some cookies, some puffed Cheetos, a few Fritos, some diet sodas.  Later that night, Carbezuma’s revenge took hold and I sat up for a few hours with heartburn.

On Sunday, I was good and even stayed low-carb at the game eating jerky and sunflower seeds.  (Full disclosure: I dipped my jerky into the nacho “cheese” dip twice.  Bad NJ, no doughnut!)

Still, despite this Low Carb Lost Weekend, I feel pretty good today and don’t worry that this deviation from the plan will hurt too much.  It was the first time since Jan. 1 that I’ve indulged like this and I don’t think it caused too much damage.

Now, back to the plan……

Miscellaneous Notes.

  • Sleep would be nice.
  • We saw our first snowflakes of the season last night as we walked back to the car after the Stars loss to Los Angeles.  Mike Ribeiro, did you take too much cold medicine before the game last night?
  • I made my Oopsie recipe again yesterday: this time I used coconut flour instead of almond flour.  Not a good idea.***  Switching back in 8, 7, 6 . . . .
  • I hope to work our thrice this week.  Magic 8-ball said that “Outlook good” so I am optimistic.

=====

Exercise for Today.  I’m getting closer to being able to do 12 pull-ups and/or chin-ups.  I still need to work on my form, but things are getting better.

Exercise Set 1 Set 2 Goal/Notes:
SLOW Push-up 10 down/hold/up
Pull Up / Chin Up 12×2
Squats 50×2
Handstand 90s
Forearm Plank 120s
Forearm Side Plank 45s

—–

* Henry would see the juxtaposition in this quote being used on a blog like this.
** Since returning to a more consistent low-carb lifestyle, I’ve found I can taste the added sugar in everything.  For instance, I had a bite of Sonic onion ring a while back and ended up spitting it out into the trash because it was so sweet.  Ugh.
***
For several reasons: (1) Unless you are making a dessert version, coconut flour has too much sweetness.  (2) The coconut flavor was not overwhelming by itself, but it was still too much for most things I use Oopsies to do (hold sandwich meat, as toast, etc.).  (3) Coconut flour soaks up a ton of moisture from whatever you put it into. We had to add the better part of a cup of water to the yolk mixture to make it workable again to the point that it would be possible to fold in the whipped whites.
One response to “Day 044-2 (M, 120213) — A Free Day

  1. Well … it sounded like you had a great carby-cheesey weekend. Hehe! I hope you throroughly enjoyed the whole thing! I am sure you will have a GREAT week with you attitude. 😀

Leave a comment if you want . . .

