Day 041-2 (F, 120210) — Transforming Myself and My Oopsies

“If you don’t live it, it won’t come out of your horn.”
— Charlie Parker

Transformation.  That’s the theme of this blog: “Remaking my life one day at a time” has been up there since the very beginning.  Apparently, I’ve been doing it all wrong.

Oopsies, Again.  I am still trying to perfect my oopsie-making.

My biggest problem is that my oopsies always come out flat.  I asked a professional-chef friend of mine how to fix this:

I’ve been making a recipe which calls for whipping egg whites until stiff, then folding them into the rest of the batter. My results are *never* as fluffy as they should be; they always flatten out and don’t stand up.  I’ve tried the suggestions; I’ve whipped harder and harder; I’ve even watched a dozen videos on how to fold egg whites into another mixture . . . nothing seems to work.

Part 1.  The Egg Foam.  Why are you not getting the heft that you desire in your egg foam baked goods?  First answer MAY be that you are not beating your whites to a stiff peak.  There are three stages in beating egg whites.  Soft peaks, where the foam will form a Dairy Queen looking flipped peak when you pull the mixing whip out of the bowl.  Stiff Peaks, where the foam will form something that looks like a gnome hat peak, straight up with no fold down.  The last stage is over beaten egg whites.  These look dry and granulated.  You can still save an over beaten egg white by adding another fresh one and then re-beating them to the desired level.

Another reason for the lack of heft very well may be the thickness of your stir in batter.  You are using cream cheese and egg yolks.  That recipe calls for an almost even volume of both, and the cream cheese is not softened.  You will have a VERY stiff batter, which will tend to break the delicate foam structure of the egg whites.  I would recommend, first of all, soften the cream cheese to room temperature.  Then beat the cream cheese and egg yolks together until they are very loose and creamy.  If you cannot get a nice creamy batter, reduce the amount of cream cheese by a half an ounce.

Your egg whites are used to leaven and lighten the batter.  If you break down the foam, you will not achieve any rise.  So you folding technique could be an issue here as well.  When you fold in, follow these steps.

  1. Lighten the batter.  Take your first 1/3 of the egg white and mix quickly, without being gentle, into your batter mixture.  This will loosen the batter more, and allow for easier integration of your egg whites.
  2. Fold in the egg whites 1/3 more at a time.  By folding, that means, add the whites to the batter with a rubber spatula, and gently turn them into the batter.  You are not stirring, you are not whisking.
  3. Repeat with the final 1/3.  You will see some bits of egg white that have not fully incorporated into your batter.  That is really okay.  The more you stir or fold the whites into the batter, the more you damage the foam structure of the egg whites.

One thing in addition.  If you are in the foam building stage, be sure that there are no bits of egg yolk, oil, or fats on your beater or your mixing bowl.  The lecithin in egg yolk and the oils will prevent a foam from forming.

When i made my last batch, I did five things differently:

  1. I let me eggs and cream cheese sit out longer, warming to room temperature before I started making my oopsies.
  2. I whipped the ever-lovin’ hell outta my eggs.  Those peaks could’ve held up a car.
  3. I reduced the amount of cream cheese by half an ounce.
  4. I added ¼ cup of almond flower to my cream cheese mix.
  5. I folded more gently than ever before.  I could still see distinct pockets of egg white foam in my batter.

Apparently this worked: this time my oopsies were tall and fluffy and perfect.

I put my adapted recipe up on SparkPeople.com Recipes: Oopsies (Low Carb Rolls) + Almond Flour (1 roll / svg) Recipe (net carb count = 0.9 per roll).

The added almond flour adds just a bit of oomph to the rolls and, hopefully, will make them hold up better for making sandwiches or supporting a burger.

=====

Exercise for Today.  Slow push-ups, à la DDP, are tough.  When I do these, I use a timer on my phone to help me count true 10-second triads for each rep.  I did two sets of three each on Wednesday — 90 seconds each set — and they really pushed me to the limit.

Want a challenge?  Try some for yourself.

My chin-ups and pull-ups are getting better.  For me, chin-ups (hands facing to the side or toward me) are definitely easier.  I still haven’t hit a sold 12 on both sets but I am coming closer.  I think that, maybe, if I were doing just those reps and skipping the rest, I might be able to pull it off.  With all the other exercises in my cycles, I never can seem to reach that final rep or two with good form, if at all.

Exercise Set 1 Set 2 Goal/Notes:
SLOW Push-up 10 down, 10 hold, 10 up
Pull Up / Chin Up 12×2
Squats 50×2
Handstand 90s
Forearm Plank 120s
Forearm Side Plank 45s

Exercise from Wednesday.

Exercise Set 1 Set 2 Goal/Notes:
SLOW Push-up 3 3 10 down, 10 hold, 10 up
Pull Up / Chin Up 11 8 2×2
Squats 50 50 50×2
Handstand 51s 54s 90s
Forearm Plank 120s 120s 120s
Forearm Side Plank 45s 45s 45s

—–

One response to “Day 041-2 (F, 120210) — Transforming Myself and My Oopsies

  1. I am glad to help. Cooking, especially baking, can be as much science as it is art. Knowing what the specific issue is, can allow a good diagnosis of why the issues are occurring.

    Chef Sean Jett

Leave a comment if you want . . .

