Day 364 (F, 111230) — What I’ve Done This Year

Cataloging the New Year for New John.  What have I done this year?  It’s a bigger question than this blog can contain.  For example, the best thing I did this year, I didn’t do: Mrs. NJ did . . . my twins were born in July.

Restricting myself to researching the New John for a New Year archives, I’ve gone through and examined just what I recorded in these pages and posts over the past year.*

Weight and Bodyfat

  • Highest recorded weight: 228.5 on 110101
  • Lowest recorded weight: 195.3 on 110709 (Δ -33.2)
  • Highest recorded bodyfat%: 29.7 on 110101
  • Lowest recorded bodyfat %: 24.0 on 110709 (Δ -5.7)
  • Highest recorded bodyfat #: 67.9 on 110101
  • Lowest recorded bodyfat #: 46.9.0 on 110709 (Δ -21.0)

Program Notes

  • I took planned 80 Free Days (+/-)
  • I took an additional 35-40 unscheduled Cheat Days or Meals
  • I weighed-in 40 times (counting my final weigh-in tomorrow)
  • I recorded 449 meals (I stopped tracking my meals 110620)
  • I started publishing my weekly plan in Week 25 (110620)

Cardio

  • Running total = 480.36 miles**
  • Total time = 108:36:07**
  • Average min/mi = 13:34
  • Best avg. min/mi on a long run (7.87 mi.) = 10:34
  • Longest single run = 13.23 miles in 2:57:37 (13:26 min/mi)
  • Best Month = June, 96.76 miles
  • Cycling (1 event) = 28.14 miles in 2:27:54 (5.15 min/mi)
  • Mud Runs (2 events) = 16.2 total miles
  • 5k runs (1 event) = **

Strength Training

  • Squats (and variations) = 9317
  • Push-ups (and variations) = 7536
  • Crunches (and variations) = 4405
  • Pull-ups (and variations) = 1003.5
  • Dips (and variations) = 1943
  • Lunges (and variations) = 930
  • Plank Bridge (and variations) = 920
  • Bird Dog (and variations) = 743
  • Mountain Climbers (and variations) = 712
  • Curls (and variations) = 80
  • Occam’s Protocol A – Pull Downs = 98
  • Occam’s Protocol A – Shoulder Press = 88
  • Occam’s Protocol B – Leg Press = 181
  • Occam’s Protocol B – Decline Press = 99

Note: I put most of these exercises (including the running and cycling), into Fitocracy and it said that, if this had been one day of exercise, it would have been worth 109773 points! =D

Miscellaneous

  • I created and shared 365 blog posts (including tomorrow’s post)
  • I received (or made in reply) 870 comments or trackbacks
  • I posted 14 recipes
  • I asked 8 poll questions, receiving a grand total of 18 votes
  • I linked to (and sometimes delinked from) 30 different sites in my blogroll
  • I posted almost 250 pictures (images I took myself or that I found elsewhere on the web)
  • I posted links to 76 songs/videos I liked

=====

Exercise.  Anybody else use Fitocracy?  If you would like to and need an invite, use my Contact Me page to email me a request.

Today turned into push-up sampler day. =)

Exercise Sets Reps Notes
1 Myotatic Crunches 1 50
2 Cat Vomit Exercises 2 20
3 Pull-ups 2 10 assisted
4 Push-ups 9 10 see review below

Review.  I was trying to figure out what to do today and Mrs. NJ and my older daughter were in the room so I demonstrated a bunch of different kinds of push-ups for them.  Then I let them decide which ones I did.

I did 10 each of:

  • normal
  • diamond
  • wide
  • incline
  • decline
  • crocodile
  • side-to-side
  • handstand

I also did 5 each of:

  • one-arm
  • dive bomber

And, finally, I did 2 plyometric (clapping) push-ups.

Damn, my arms hurt . . . but that was a lot of fun. =)

I’m looking forward to my Superman 5k tomorrow. =)

=====

Plan for Week 52. The final week….

Day Fast? SCD? Run/Exer?
Sunday No No No
Monday Yes No Yes No Yes No
Tuesday Yes Yes No Yes
Wednesday Yes Yes Yes
Thursday Yes No Yes No Yes
Friday Yes Yes Yes
Saturday No No No Yes
Red = a negative deviation | Green = a positive deviation | Blue = a note

—–

* ALL numbers are the best I can figure, but are still approximate.
**
I’ll update these numbers tomorrow (12/31) with the results of a 5k I’m running in the morning.
A tiny bit more than a half-marathon. =)
 I stayed home on Thursday to help with the kids. Lunch was Red, Hot & Blue pulled pork, brisket, and sausage with green beans and Carolina (vinegar-based) sauce. Yummy!
2 responses to “Day 364 (F, 111230) — What I’ve Done This Year

Leave a comment if you want . . .

