Day 298 (T, 111025) — Songs that Get Me Pumped, Part 2

Music Helps. Number two in the series of the songs that get my blood pumping.

Institutionalized by Suicidal Tendencies.  One of those crazy punk songs from back in the day.  I thought I was so IT listening to this stuff.

Despite my delusions of cool, the song is still fun,  funny, and tight.

Here Comes Sickness by Mudhoney.  I saw them play at Castaic Lake near LA in 1992 with Sonic Youth and Pavement.  Kurt Cobain even came out and played with them a bit.

The pit at that show was on sand and there was so much dust kicked up I could hardly breathe (in addition, of course, to the crush of a few hundred bodies around me).

[Do you do torrents?  If so, here is a recording of that show. I haven’t downloaded it so proceed at your own risk.]

Blister in the Sun by The Violent Femmes.  I was introduced to this song as a freshman in college.

I got to see them play this tiny little bar made of a few double-wide trailers hooked together.  (Mississippi.  Go figure. ;-))  Still, it was a helluva show.

Health-wise, this period was one of the worst in my life: I started smoking.  I gained 20-25 pounds.  I lazed around and bitched about having to walk about the whole third of a mile or so across campus to classes, etc.  Boy was I a winner.

(Hells . . . at least I survived to become the SuperJohn I am now!  ROFLMAO!)

More tomorrow . . . .

=====

Exercise.  Yesterday’s Ups testing day was a success: for each exercise, I hit a good mark.

Exercise Max Rep Results
Pull-ups
3
Sit-ups
100
Push-ups
100
50 lbs. Kettlebell Swings
20

Review (from Yesterday).  I did the kettlebell swings last and I could tell it was gonna be tough. I probably could have done a few more but I wimped out.

I pretty well on my push-ups, with only a few seconds of rest during the whole set.

The pull-ups still sucked, but at least I got the three I needed to move on to the JV level.

Of all the exercises, I was surprised that the sit-ups seemed to be the easiest. They still killed me by the very end, but getting there seemed to be smoother than the other sets.

=====

Plan for Week 43.

Day Fast? SCD? Run/Exer?
Sunday No No No
Monday Yes Yes Yes
Tuesday Yes Yes No
Wednesday Yes Yes Yes
Thursday Yes Yes No
Friday Yes Yes Yes
Saturday No No Yes
Red = a negative deviation | Green = a positive deviation | Blue = a note

—–

Leave a comment if you want . . .

