Day 297 (M, 111024) — Songs that Get Me Pumped; UPs Testing Day

Music Helps. Taking a turn in topic this week, I thought I’d post some of the songs I loved when I was a kid.  Music that just frakking rocked and get my adrenaline flowing, made me practically vibrate with pent up energy, just looking for a use.*

Your list may vary. 😉

Smells Like Teen Spirit by Nirvana.  For a song that was supposed to be a joke, this one always made me just want to do something intense . . . climb a freaking building, break something, do something crazy . . . anything.  Ah, the good ol’ days. 😉

Three Days by Jane’s Addiction.  One of those songs that just goes on forever . . . and that’s the way I liked it.  I regularly lost myself in the jam from about 3:00 in and never stopped.

I saw Jane’s play probably 7 or 8 times over the years. It was awesome every time.  Best show I saw was at the Brixton Academy in London in 1991.  Primus opened.  In-freaking-credible.

My Dear Heretic by Mary’s Danish.  Mary’s Danish was one of those bands that few people knew but those who did loved them.  It was one of the few female-fronted bands I knew of that could rock as hard as any of the guys out there.

The combination of Gretchen’s and Julie’s voices and then that Hammond Organ at the end just drove me nuts.

One thing always bugged me about MD: I never could figure out if the girl was from Denmark or if she owned a pastry. =/

More tomorrow . . . . =D

=====

Exercise.  Well, I may have hit the end of the UPS Workouts.  Why?  Because as of last Friday, I’ve completed two of the four challenges (push-ups and squats), the pull-ups program will take months more, and I’m on Week Six of the sit-up challenge.

If I’d started all four programs at the same level, and progressed through them at the same pace, it would have been neater (as in “tidier”) for my record keeping and my planning.  alas, it was not to be.  Anyway . . . .

Today, I will:

  1. Do my 100 push-ups challenge: 100 consecutive push-ups without a (significant) pause.
  2. Do one max reps set of kettlebell swings with my 45 lbs. bell (in lieu of doing 200 squats).  I have no idea how many I’ll be able to do.  We shall see.
  3. Do a sit-ups challenge test.  One max rep set of [crunches] to exhaustion.  Depending on how that goes, on Wednesday I’ll either redo week 5 or start on Day 1 of week 6, column TBD.
  4. Do one max reps set of pull-ups.  Depending on the results, I’ll either repeat Weenie Workout Week 3 again or move on to the JV level Week 1.
Exercise Max Rep Results
Pull-ups
3
Sit-ups
100
Push-ups
100
50 lbs. Kettlebell Swings
20

Review. I did the kettlebell swings last and I could tell it was gonna be tough. I probably could have done a few more but I wimped out.

I pretty well on my push-ups, with only a few seconds of rest during the whole set.

The pull-ups still sucked, but at least I got the three I needed to move on to the JV level.

Of all the exercises, I was surprised that the sit-ups seemed to be the easiest. They still killed me by the very end, but getting there seemed to be smoother than the other sets.

=====

Plan for Week 43.

Day Fast? SCD? Run/Exer?
Sunday No No No
Monday Yes Yes Yes
Tuesday Yes Yes No
Wednesday Yes Yes Yes
Thursday Yes Yes No
Friday Yes Yes Yes
Saturday No No Yes
Red = a negative deviation | Green = a positive deviation | Blue = a note

—–

* NB: I’m not talking about “music that has a 180 BPM tempo which helps me calibrate my steps as I run” sorta crap.  I mean actual music fercryinoutloud. 😉
Leave a comment if you want . . .

