Day 287 (F, 111014) — Mudders; UPs workout Day 15

Adventure Races/Mudders.  I love mud races.  I’ve done four of them so far (Warrior Dash, Tough Mudder, and two Original Mud Runs) and enjoyed every second of it.

There’s another Original Mud Run coming up at the end of this month (10/29) which I would like to participate in. We’ll see if I can make that happen.

Active.com has a good article today about three events: the Spartan Race series, the Tough Mudder, and the GORUCK Challenge.

I guess some might consider these events as fads or trends that will fade away, but I’d disagree. I think these events and more like them are here to stay. In this day and age where the most common form of communication is texting, and the most difficult thing many people do in their day is decide between 2 percent milk or soy in their latte, it’s nice to see events such as these that allow people to actually communicate face-to-face and experience something truly challenging.

Check it out: Active.com: A Look at Obstacle Course Racing

And check out my Tips for a Successful Mud Run.

=====

Exercise. Even though I worked out yesterday and am supposed to take a day off between workouts, my weekend is really busy with family in town and I am afraid that if I don’t get this workout done today, I won’t get it done at all.

So . . . today is Day 15 of my UPs workout plan, a repeat of day 12 from last week.  Squats and push-ups are still split in two, with 8-9 smaller sets total within the 5 superset framework.

Last week, I tried to do this workout after my Saturday morning run.  I gassed and couldn’t finish. I made it to the last set, the max rep set, cheated my way through 125 pseudo-squats and 30 quasi-sit-ups, and quit.

This week, even though it’ll be done on one day’s rest, I’ll power through no matter how long it takes.

Set 1 Set 2 Set 3 Set 4 Set 5 Total
Squats
35
45
35
30
(100)
(390)
Push-ups
20
24
20
Pull-ups
8A
8AU
7A
7AU
1 NM
(31)
Squats
35
45
35
30
Sit-ups
35
42
35
35
(50)
(197)
Push-ups
20
24
20
22
(50)
(200)
Splits
TBD
TBD
TBD
TBD
TBD
TBD
A = assisted, AU = Australian, NM = negative, max hang
(#) = minimum goals for max reps and total reps

Review. pending

=====

Plan for Week 41.

Day Fast? SCD? Run/Exer?
Sunday No No Yes
Monday Yes Yes No
Tuesday No No* Yes
Wednesday Yes Yes No
Thursday Yes Yes Yes
Friday Yes Yes No
Saturday No No Yes
Red = a negative deviation | Green = a positive deviation | Blue = a note

—–

* Took my family to the Fair. Fried foods were consumed. It was wonderful.
One response to “Day 287 (F, 111014) — Mudders; UPs workout Day 15

  1. I would really like to enter one of these types of events but my inability so far to, uh, you know, run, has me stymied. I doing well with my walks and am still planning on walking the Turkey Trot. My goal is to do the 5k in under 50 minutes. I just don’t think a Spartan Walk is the thing to do. We’ll see how things go in the future.

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a comment if you want . . .

