Day 270 (T, 110927) — Sunflower Seeds Are From the Devil

Breaking Bad Habits . . . Again.  Actually, sunflower seeds, per se, are not a problem.  It’s what they represent that plays Wormwood to my fitness goals.

This past week, I’ve written about how I’ve been eating sunflower seeds on the way to and from work lately.  In those posts, I asked you, gentle readers, a simple question:

How many calories can I consume before my fast is broken?

Friday, I found a reliable source which said not to worry about it too much if you keep it under about 50 calories.  A bit of cream in your coffee, for example, is ok.

Now I need to explain why I am going to stop eating sunflower seeds on my way to work even though I have the tacit approval of one of the gurus of the Intermittent Fasting world.

It’s simple really:

I recognize that this is yet another step in my diabolical plan to cheat myself of progress all over again.

Gaming the System . . . Again.  It’s my usual pattern in which I game the system, pushing the limits to see just how much can I bend the rules and still claim to be “doing the diet.”

As before, I still find myself drifting away from adherence to the rules, but, through hard work and careful attention, I am getting better at spotting these things now and can cut them off before they become too problematic.

So, as of this morning, no more seeds on the way to work (about 8 hours into my normal 20-hour workday fast).  I may still have some on the way home since I’ll be close to breaking my fast anyway.

=====

A Possible Solution. I think this may be all I need to get back on track. 😉

=====

Plan for Week 39.

Day Fast? SCD? Run/Exer?
Sunday No Yes No
Monday Yes Yes Yes
Tuesday Yes Yes No
Wednesday Yes Yes Yes
Thursday Yes Yes No
Friday No No Yes
Saturday No Yes Yes
Red = a negative deviation | Green = a positive deviation | Blue = a note

—–

Leave a comment if you want . . .

