Day 269 (M, 110926) — Slip Slidin’ Away; UPs Workout Day 7

Disappointment Gaining Steam.  Lately, I’ve been getting down on myself for my lack of progress.  If I were to craft a slogan for my diet and fitness programs over the past umpteen years, it would be:  I see what I’m doing wrong.  I plan to do better.  I don’t do better.  I give up.

About two months ago, I recognized in myself the seeds of past failure so I took drastic action: the 2 Week Diet Break.  By the end of it, I had gained 11+ pounds.

After The Break, I lost 12.1 pounds in just three weeks.  It was my most successful fit of fat loss ever.

In the last three weeks, I’m back up 7.5 pounds, 1.1% BF, and 1.5 pounds BF.


Every Little Bit Hurts . . . Again.
  Since I am not thinking well enough to come up with a smooth or witty segue, here’s an article I found relevant:

Why Even Resolute Dieters Often Fail

….Although consuming an extra 100 calories a day would not show up right away as weight gain, it does over time. And it happens more slowly for the obese person than for someone who is lean, Dr. Hall said, because the obese person’s body requires more calories to maintain the extra pounds.….

I have long held that diet is the primary factor affecting my weight-loss.  So when things are going wrong, I know I need to re-examine what I eat.

The first thing which pops-out at me is that my daily fasting has been weighing on me lately.  By the end of the day, I’m hungry . . . much more than I was just a month ago.

Because of this, I’ve been:

  • Eating sunflower seeds on my ride to and from work
  • Snacking on several small handfuls of almonds while I prepare my dinner
  • Eating 1-2 Atkins bars many nights
  • Cheating with nibbles of forbidden foods

Taken together, that’s several hundred more calories (and many more carbs) than I should be eating on most evenings.

As my daughters would say, “That’s a recipe for disaster.”

Best thing I can think of at the moment is to either eat a big slab of meat as soon as I walk in the door or bring some form of convenient protein to work and eat some in the car on the way home.

Yes, it would be more calories, but three things make this idea seem workable to me:

  1. It would be better for those calories to be protein than carbs.
  2. It would help allay my hunger, allowing me to not snack while I fixed dinner.
  3. The extra calories would be at least partly offset because, since I’d be somewhat satiated, it’d be easier to prepare smaller meals.

It sounds good.  I wonder if it will work in practice . . . .

=====

Oh, and Exercise, Too.  While food intake is my primary weight and fat determiner, as the article notes:

If a man weighing 220 pounds ran an additional 12.5 miles a week at a moderate pace, he would lose more weight, and slightly faster, than if he cut the equivalent amount of calories from his diet, the authors calculated.

To me this means I really need to get back to running more than once per week.  It’s been killing me to only get to go on Saturday mornings.

As the boys begin to sleep through the night more consistently, I plan to start running on weekdays again.  As soon as they give us one full week of good nights’ rest, I’m going to get going again.

(Obviously knowing what Dad is hoping for, they’ve been backsliding the past several nights, likely postponing my hoped for running Renaissance.)

The only reason I don’t “just do it” is to save Mrs. NJ some sleep.  If I’m still at home, I can get up with the kids and she won’t have to get up so early.

=====

A Bit More Gaming.  One last note for today: I “moderated” some popcorn last night.

Sorry . . . what I meant to say was “I ate too much frakking popcorn, a bit of apple pie, some brownie, some cookie, and a good bit of other bad-for-me stuff to boot.”

Damn Autocorrect.

=====

Exercise.  Today is Day 7 of my UPs workout plan.  Because I had such a hard time last week on my push-ups, I don’t feel like I am ready to move on to Week 5 of the program.  Therefore, I am going to repeat Week 4.

Push-ups Sit-ups Squats Pull-ups Splits
Set 1
21
18
49
6A
2:10
Set 2
25
25
54
4Au
4:32
Set 3
21
19
40
5A
6:33
Set 4
21
19
32
5Au
8:33
Set 5
25
25
60
1NM
11:36
Total
113
106
235
21
11:36
A = assisted, Au = Australian, N = neg., NM = neg., max hang

The one positive thing in the past few weeks has been this workout program.  It is making a positive difference in how I look: I can actually see the improvements to my chest, shoulders, and arms.  I like that.

I do, however, fear that, like Occam’s Protocol, it may be a factor in my weight gain.

Not that I’ve gained 7 pounds of muscle since I started the UPs program, but that I’ve stopped losing any additional weight from my workouts, as I (perhaps) had been during my Max Capacity Training days.

What to do?  What to do?

UPDATE: That was pretty intense. I managed to do everything in 11:36.

Heckuva workout . . . .

=====

Plan for Week 39.

Day Fast? SCD? Run/Exer?
Sunday No Yes No
Monday Yes Yes Yes
Tuesday Yes Yes No
Wednesday Yes Yes Yes
Thursday Yes Yes No
Friday No No Yes
Saturday No Yes Yes
Red = a negative deviation | Green = a positive deviation | Blue = a note

—–

* I think this could be my dieting and exercise slogan for the past umpteen years.
Leave a comment if you want . . .

