Day 265 (R, 110922) — Almost Down for the Count; Intermittent Fasting Question

Almost Lost It.  Yesterday scared the crap out of me: New John for a New Year was wiped off the ‘net for a while.

It seems I inadvertently violated the WordPress TOS with the PAGG link in my sidebar.

WordPress, in their infinite mercy, removed my blog and put up a notice for all to see which read “This blog has been suspended.”  All without any warning.

I contacted them right away and, to their credit, NJ4NY was back up within about 30 minutes.  A little while later they sent me an email explaining what the problem was and telling me to remove the offending “affiliate” link.

I did and hope this is the last of this sorry tale.

Planning for the Future of NJ4NY.  I am seriously considering getting a non-Wordpress.com-hosted blog so I won’t have to worry about my blog getting randomly nuked from orbit.

I’m not, however, sure I want to go through the hassle.

You see, several years ago I had a rather popular (for minor leaguers) self-hosted political blog.*  I used MovableType and worked hard to make it a good site.  Truth be told, it was a huge pain in the ass.

Anybody out there have a good experience with a self-hosted WP blog?  What can you tell me about it?

Breaking a Fast.  I have a question for my IF friends out there . . . how many calories count as breaking a fast?

10?  20?  30?  100?  At what point do we say “Yeah, you done blown it, buddy.  Count today out of your IF log.”

I ask because I have taken to eating sunflower seeds on my way to and from work.

The whole 1.75 oz. bag of shells-on seeds has 160 calories in it (4 carbs, 3 fiber) and usually eat about 1/4 of a bag during the one-hour drive.  That’s 40 calories in 60 minutes (though only 1/4 grams of carbs so at least I know my SCD is safe for the day ;-)).

Should I count that as breaking a fast?

UPDATE: Mark made a good comment which has forced me to reconsider how I have worded my question . . . .

While I agree with Mark that technically any calories could be considered breaking a fast, I guess what I really mean is:

At what level do any accrued benefits of fasting stop? 

I expect that eating 1 calorie is not enough to change your metabolic state and ruin a, say, 10-hour stretch of fasting.

So how many does it actually take before you lose the benefits and have to consider it as “starting over” or as merely a 10-hour fast?

=====

Plan for Week 38.

Day Fast? SCD? Run/Exer?
Sunday No Yes No
Monday Yes Yes Yes
Tuesday Yes Yes No
Wednesday Yes No1 Yes Yes
Thursday Yes No2 Yes No
Friday Yes Yes Yes
Saturday No No Yes
Red = a negative deviation | Green = a positive deviation | Blue = a note

—–

* Don’t ask.  I won’t tell.
1 I had a Mooyah burger yesterday.  Yummy. =)
2 I had a Fuddruckers burger today with a friend. Yummy. =)
7 responses to “Day 265 (R, 110922) — Almost Down for the Count; Intermittent Fasting Question

  1. I guess technically, anything with calories in it breaks the fast. That said, I’ve started IF again in the mornings but I often eat a slice of bacon that happens to be left after everyone else eats. I don’t really consider that to be a significant caloric intake during that 16 hour period. I would give you a pass on the seeds.

    As far as blogs, I have no experience with anything other than WP. It’s so easy, I often don’t do it at all!

    • While I agree with you that technically any calories could be considered breaking a fast, I guess what I really mean (and I’ll fix this in the post above; thaks for making me be more clear in my statement) is:

      At what level do the accrued benefits of fasting stop? I expec that eating 1 calorie is not enough to change your metabolic state and ruin a, say, 10-hour stretch of fasting.

      So how many does it actually take before you lose the benefits and have to consider it as “starting over” or as merely a 10-hour fast?

      • In reading an old thread over at Mark’s Daily Apple, people seem to feel that for the benefits of a fast, there must be no calories consumed, otherwise, what you are doing is a low calorie diet. I can’t find anything where someone says what the number of calories are that causes you to lose the benefit of the fast. I think it would vary based on the individual’s metabolism. That’s all I’ve got………….

Leave a comment if you want . . .

