Day 257 (W, 110914) — The Dangers of Eating Out; UPs Workout Day 2

An Unexpected Free Meal. Last night, we went to Chili’s for dinner.  My daughter requested it and we had a “kids eat free” coupon so we said ok.

Is it possible to eat low carb at Chili’s?  Sure!  Make wise choices and it’s a breeze to eat low carb / slow carb just about anywhere.  This time, however, I should have thought through my order more.  I should have been more careful.

I accidentally made a bad choice: I ordered a full rack of their Baby Back Ribs with the Memphis Dry Rub and was halfway through the rack when I realized just how much sugar must have been in the rub.

Chili's Memphis Dry Ribs

Woops!

I should have known better.  I know most rubs, especially commercial rubs, have sugar in them.  I just forgot that inconvenient fact when I ordered because the rubs I make don’t have any sugar.

SCD blown out of the water, I decided that I would just make it a Free Meal and enjoy my time with my family.

I wish I had eaten SCD all the way last night.  I didn’t.  I just hope it doesn’t set me back too much.

=====

Exercise.  Today is Day 2 of my UPs (push-ups, pull-ups, sit-ups, and squats) workout plan.

I have a question about some of the pull-ups I am doing . . . .

Assisted Pull-Up
Use a band, spotter chair or bench or assisted machine (as shown) to support some of your weight while using proper form and building the pull-up muscles.

I don’t have a fancy machine to help with this so I am using a small stool.

I’m trying my best to focus on the muscles I am supposed to use and not to assist with my feet too much but it’s really hard to gauge if I am doing it even close to right.  The best (bio-) feedback I can discern is that it is still really tough to do the pull-ups.

Does anyone have any tips for doing these successfully without a machine?

Set 1
(60-90)
Set 2
(60-90)
Set 3
(60-90)
Set 4
(60-90)
Set 5
(30-90)
Push-ups
20
25
15
15
30 (25+)
Sit-ups
9
12
9
9
21 (10+)
Squats
27
34
21
21
64 (34+)
Pull-ups
3A
5A
4A
1N
1NM
(#) = seconds rest between sets: 90 for push-ups this round; 60 for sit-ups/squats; 30-60 for pull-ups
For pull-ups: A = assisted, N = negative, NM = negative/max hang

=====

Plan for Week 37.

Day Fast? SCD? Run/Exer?
Sunday No Yes No
Monday Yes* Yes Yes
Tuesday Yes Yes No** No
Wednesday Yes Yes Yes
Thursday Yes Yes No
Friday Yes Yes Yes
Saturday No No Yes
Red = a negative deviation | Green = a positive deviation | Blue = a note

—–

* I accidentally had a bit to eat on Monday during my fast. How does one eat “accidentally” you ask?  Well, I had some Maxwell House (née General Foods International) Suisse Mocha Café (sugar-free, decaf)and did what I usually do when I examine a label nowadays: I checked the carbs and sugar content.  Carbs? 2. Sugar? 0.  What I didn’t do is look at the Total Calories.  It was only 30 calories but still, I am trying to keep this record accurate so there you have it.

** Chili’s Dry Rub suckered me. =/

2 responses to “Day 257 (W, 110914) — The Dangers of Eating Out; UPs Workout Day 2

  1. I’d be a LOT more worried about the 111g of fat than those carbs. That’s the stuff that clogs your arteries. As for the pull ups, when I started I was just doing downs. Jump up and then lower myself down slowly. You can try that instead… but I think assisted pull ups are a good way to go.

    • Fat is good for you. That’s part of the entire foundation of low carb / slow carb eating. Check out Good Calories Bad Calories by Gary Taubes for more information.

      There are negative pull-ups in the workout . . . the fourth and fifth sets. I’m just having trouble making sure I am doing the assisted version correctly, without “assisting” too much.

      Have a good one. =)

Leave a comment if you want . . .

