Day 238 (F, 110826) — Ditching Your Sweet Tooth; Max Capacity Training Day 33

Sugars, Sweeteners, and Ditching Your Sweet Tooth.  SparkPeople.com, my favorite daily health newsletter, had a really detailed and informative article the other day about “That white, powdery substance just makes you feel good.

Breaking Your Sugar Addiction: The 4-Week Plan to Stop Sugar Cravings

Major sections in the article are:

  • Why Should You Care? Is Sugar Actually Bad for You?
  • Cutting Out Sugar: A 4-Week Action Plan
  • Week 1: Identify Sugar and Where It’s Hiding
  • Week 2: Stock Your Sugar-Free Kitchen
  • What about Sugar Substitutes?
  • All About Artificial Sweeteners
  • What Are Sugar Alcohols?
  • The Science Behind Stevia
  • Week 3: Stop the Cravings
  • Week 4: Game Plan for Life

It is long, informative, and has solidly helpful advice.  Having trouble with a sweet tooth on your s/low carb diet?  Check it out and you might find something to help you get past your cravings.

=====

Max Capacity Training. Tabata timing again for MCT Day 33 using the following exercises.

  1. Table Kicks: 35
  2. Ski Jumps: 20
  3. Butt Lifts: 16
  4. Handstand Push-ups: 0

Last week, under a 50-10 protocol, I could only do 2 handstand push ups on my first round.  Tabata is tougher for me and I am afraid that my “lowest round” today will be zero.  I’ll work like hell to do at least one each round but it’s going to be an insane challenge for me.  I’ll let you know how it goes….

Update.  As I thought, today was much worse than the same workout last week.  I did a grand total of TWO handstand pushups in my first round and none thereafter.  It totally kicked my butt.

On the rounds when I made it up to vertical, if I came anywhere near the ground, I all but fell on my head and could not get back up.

=====

Plan for Week 34.

Day Fast? SCD? Run? MCT?
Sunday No Yes No No No
Monday Yes Yes No Yes
Tuesday Yes Yes No No
Wednesday Yes Yes No Yes No
Thursday Yes Yes No No Yes
Friday Yes Yes No Yes
Saturday No No Yes No

—–

5 responses to “Day 238 (F, 110826) — Ditching Your Sweet Tooth; Max Capacity Training Day 33

  1. I’m really proud of you for doing the handstand push ups, knowing how you hate being upside down. I had my first round with them today. I can’t do a handstand but get at about a 60 degree angle. I can’t touch my head to the floor either but I do what I can.

    Keep on truckin!

    • Thanks, Mark.

      Something tells me, however, that if you watched my workout, this is the conversation we’d have:

      Mark: Whatcha doin’ NJ?
      Me: Handstand push-ups.
      Mark: Are you sure?
      Me: Yeah. Why?
      Mark: Cause it look like you’re doing a few seconds of vertical plank and then falling sorta slowly…..

Leave a comment if you want . . .

