Day 231 (F, 110819) — Expectations; Egg Cupcakes; Max Capacity Training Day 30

Setting Expectations.  Last week was a dietary epic: I lost 7 of the 11+ pounds I gained on my 2 Week Diet Break.  I don’t know that I’ve ever lost that much weight in a single week before . . . even the One Golden Shot the first time I ever did Atkins.

Obviously, I’ll lose another 5 pounds this week, right?  Uh, prolly not, Kemosabe.

I have felt good, eaten well, exercised well, and my ring has been loose this week.  All in all, it feels like it should be a good week, but, given my history of little to no loss following a big drop, I’m not expecting much.

If I stay even it’ll be all good to me.  If I lose a pound or two, I’ll call it a big win.  If I gain a pound or two, I’ll be a little disappointed but it’s pretty much what I expect to happen.

New Recipe.  Last night I made a recipe called Egg Cupcakes.  They are single-serving sized omelets with spinach, green onion, roasted red peppers, zucchini, and bacon.  They are really convenient when you want something low carb, high protein, and really tasty that you can nuke for 20 seconds and eat quickly or take with you as you head out the door.

I did make a few adjustments to the recipe:

  • I only used half a green onion to keep the onion flavor mild.
  • I used half a block of frozen spinach, thawed.
  • I used one zucchini instead of two.
  • I cooked them in silicone baking cups rather than muffin pans.

I like them but think they’d be better with some salsa and less spinach.

I’ll probably make them again, tweaking the recipe to suit my tastes; hmmm . . . sautéed onion instead of green onion? black beans?  mushrooms? no spinach at all? sausage or ham instead of/in addition to the bacon?

An interesting thought I gleaned from a comment on her post was to line the inside of the baking cup/muffin hole with a piece of bacon.  I wish I’d seen that before I made them. =)

If I do adapt this recipe, and it’s different enough, I’ll post it on my Recipes page (and link back to the original for credit, of course).

Max Capacity Training. MCT Day 30 is the following exercises in a 50-10 timing protocol:

  1. Table Kicks: 72
  2. Ski Jumps: 25
  3. Butt Lifts: 23
  4. Handstand Push-ups: 2

I am truly afraid of the handstand push ups.  I expect, like the Lalanne plank yesterday, they just might totally kick my butt.  “Totally” as in “can’t hardly even do 1 or 2.” =/

Update – Workout Review. Boy was I right….the handstand push ups were impossible.  I could only do 2 on the first round (zero thereafter) and even those two had terrible form.  Ugh!

Something tells me that the Tabata version is going to make me puke.

=====

Plan for Week 33.

Day Fast? SCD? Run? MCT?
Sunday No No No No
Monday Yes Yes No Yes
Tuesday Yes No Yes No No
Wednesday Yes Yes No Yes No
Thursday Yes Yes No No Yes
Friday Yes Yes No Yes
Saturday No No Yes No

—–

One response to “Day 231 (F, 110819) — Expectations; Egg Cupcakes; Max Capacity Training Day 30

  1. I used bacon to “line” mine too…the problem was that the egg still made its way below and between the bacon. But they were definitely better than the non-bacon!

    -j

Leave a comment if you want . . .

