Day 228 (T, 110816) — Food for Kids, Part 2

Bottom Line Up Front. Advice conflicts. I am still looking for an answer to “How do I find out, objectively, what would be the best thing to teach my kids about eating?”

Deciding What to Feed the Kids.   I got several comments on yesterday’s post about what to feed my kids.  To sum up: who the heck knows?

Mostly, the comments seemed to focus on not forcing kids to eat stuff and using moderation in choosing their diet. In other words, doing what most thoughtful people do.  But, to me at least, there’s a problem with this thinking….

The gov’t, and fifty years of “establishment” dietary advice, all seem to recommend a “balanced” diet based on three (or more) meals per day consisting mostly of grains, vegetables, and fruit with a moderate amount of meat and fat (i.e. the food pyramid).

This is the very same diet they recommend to everyone but which low carb/slow carb (and more recently IF) theories have challenged.

We, us s/low carbers and intermittent fasters, have bought into the idea that the Standard American Diet is not a healthy one.  So why are we afraid to do for our children what we do for ourselves?

If we really believe that an overabundance carbs/fructose causes metabolic syndrome, insulin resistance, and a host of other problems . . . why would we NOT choose to educate our children about the “better” way to eat?

Signed,

Still Searching for Some Sort of Actual Evidence in Texas

=====

Plan for Week 33.

Day Fast? SCD? Run? MCT?
Sunday No No No No
Monday Yes Yes No Yes
Tuesday Yes No Yes No No
Wednesday Yes Yes No Yes
Thursday Yes Yes No No
Friday Yes Yes No Yes
Saturday No No Yes N

No fast today so I can go have lunch a coworker and a friend. Back to it tomorrow….

—–

One response to “Day 228 (T, 110816) — Food for Kids, Part 2

  1. A little back and forth on this topic between me and a friend of mine in another forum:

    “From all that I read John, it’s best to keep kids on the standard food pyramid/food groups. Restrict sweets, etc. Build habits of good eating early, that sort of thing.”

    My response:

    Exactly, [friend]. Everything we’ve all read says exactly the same thing. But have there been any studies showing that it is, in fact, right?

    We do have an “epidemic” of childhood obesity, right? So why is no one questioning whether or not the conventional wisdom about what to feed kids is correct or not?

    I don’t know the answer…but I wish there were more information out there that what has been handed down from on high over the past 30-40 years….. =(

    My friend:

    Yea…there is that. My take, my .02 worth. Part of this comes from my medical background, which I will begin with. Kids are not just small adults. Much like puppies, they need special food. So, the standard fare of a good balance of carbs and protein isn’t really going to hurt them as long as they are reasonably active kids and not video game console potatoes. Something tells, me, knowing you, that they are not 🙂

    Now, delving into the realm of ‘my .02 worth’, I think that a diet that is, though still carb balanced, something like the Paleo is also going to do no harm and keep them on the leaner side and well fed at the same time. Fruits, veggies, and proteins in reasonable amounts are not going to cause obesity down the road. The abundance of sugars that are available in this country will however.

    The other part to consider are the taste buds of kids. They really aren’t as well developed as an adult. What kids say ‘tastes yucky’ is really more of an objectionable texture to them, as well as possibly the odors. I remember hating the smell of brussels sprouts as a kid. No way would I eat them. Now I love them. So we also have to provide them with the stuff we know they’ll actually eat, while along the way, introducing more variety as they grow older.

    As always, its about educating and keeping their minds open to new ‘stuff’.

    Me again:

    Thanks for your thoughts. I appreciate that.

    I get that kids are not just “little adults” in their nutritional needs…I’m just curious about whether or not a “sensible SAD” is the right approach.

    And you’re wrong about Brussels sprouts…. 😉

Leave a comment if you want . . .

