Day 226 (Su, 110814) — Plan for Week 33; My workout plans for the next few months

Today is Mrs. New John’s birthday and I plan to take her out to eat.  Despite yesterday’s results, I will take an extra Free Meal tonight and take her out to a nice dinner because some things are more important than weekly weight loss.

Yesterday, I had a great Free Day and which ended with a semi-surprise party* for my wife.  Lots of people.  Lots of good food.  We had a great time. =)

Coming Workouts.  I’m in the home stretch of Max Capacity Training, Weeks 10-12.  For these three weeks, we go back to the pattern we saw at the beginning of our MCT training: different exercises each day, repeated the net week with a different timing protocol.

  1. Day 1 (Monday, for me) of weeks 10-12  is all about abs: Heel Touches, Pulse Ups, Leg Over Crunches, and Alternating Crunches.**
  2. Day 2 (Wednesday) covers chest, legs, and as: Staggered Push-ups, Sprinter’s Squats, Air Force Crunches, and Lalanne Plank.
  3. Day 3 (Friday) is Table Kicks, Ski Jumps, Butt Lifts, and Handstand Push-ups.***

I am really looking forward to completing my MCT workouts.  I want to be able to say I did ’em all. =)

When I’m done, I think I may do it again.  If I do, I am going to look into adding some pulling exercises to the mix to work biceps, lats, etc.

Alternately, I may look into the 100 push ups / 200 squats / 50 pulls ups / 200 sit ups / 150 dips workouts in some combination.  There’s no reason you can’t do these programs simultaneously, is there?


Plan for Week 33.

Day Fast? SCD? Run? MCT?
Sunday No No No No
Monday Yes Yes No Yes
Tuesday Yes Yes No No
Wednesday Yes Yes No Yes
Thursday Yes Yes No No
Friday Yes Yes No Yes
Saturday No No Yes N

You may have noticed two unexpected parts to my plan for this week:

  1. Today is a second Free Day.  It’s my wife’s birthday and I am going to celebrate it with her.
  2. I stopped pretending I will have the time or energy to go running during the week.  If I do get to go, it’ll be a happy accident.  If not, it’s as expected.

Have a great day, folks. =)

—–

* I count a “surprise party” as one where you gather people together and they leap out and shout “Surprise!” when the honoree walks in. That’s not how I did this one.
Instead, I simply planned a party without telling her and invited all her friends over. She did not know about it until people started showing up. So “semi-surprise”. 😉
** Have I mentioned before how much I hate ab exercises?  Day 1 each week will be a real challenge for me.
*** I’m not sure how I am going to handle the handstand  push ups.  I survived the wall-hand walkouts (doing them as the suggested alternative (planks) but this may be a much bigger challenge.  We’ll see how it goes.
2 responses to “Day 226 (Su, 110814) — Plan for Week 33; My workout plans for the next few months

  1. I finally figured out how to do the alternate version of the wall-hand walkout, first don’t try it barefooted and second I had to get my feet higher up on the wall to be able to maintain the plank. I think I’ll substitute some pushups from that position for the hand stand variety.

    Have fun today with Mrs. NJ. She deserves it!

    • We did have a nice time: a movie and a Mediterranean dinner. Yummy. =)

      For the wall-hand planks, I would guess I was at about a 25-35° angle from the wall. It stressed my shoulders a lot (in a good way), making my not only support my weight but also maintain my stability.

Leave a comment if you want . . .

