Day 224 (F, 110812) — My SCD Staples; Max Capacity Training Day 27

Standard Meals.* I am not as consistent with my meals as Tim recommends in the 4 Hour Body.  I like to switch up every day or two so I don’t get bored and start to eat things I shouldn’t to make up for any subconscious pining for more variety.

I try to either have the ingredients around at all times (e.g. cans and cans of refried beans) or buy a bunch of Food X, cook it, and refrigerate/freeze servings for later use (e.g. steaks).  That way, most days I have a choice of 2-3 things I could eat.

The one item I have at almost every meal I eat at home is refried beans and salsa.  It’s simple, tasty, and quick, and it goes well with most other things I eat regularly.

Take half a can of refried beans, it doesn’t matter what type (though vegetarian or fat-free beans have a few more carbs) and add a third of a jar of salsa.  Heat.  (Eat 3-4 Beano.) Enjoy.

My second most-often-had SCD food is steak.  I use my Simple and Delicious Steak recipe with my favorite low-carb sauce: mix mayo and Louisiana hot sauce in your preferred proportions and enjoy.  It’s zero carbs and beats the pants off of the insipid steak sauces you’ll find in the store.

Aside: Does anyone know of a good low carb steak sauce that is worth trying?**

As many s/low carb dieters might expect, I also eat lots of sausage.  Sausage can have more carbs than you might expect so watch your labels carefully.

I’m currently working my way through a large pack of bratwurst I bought at Sam’s Club.  Sometimes, I’ll eat it with my sauerkraut.  Other times, I’ll just fry a few in a pan or boil up a bunch, refrigerate them, and eat them with whatever else is on the plate for the day as an added protein.

Yesterday, I chopped one up and put it into my beans and salsa.  It was surprisingly good.  I may add that combo to my normal rotation.

Another staple is taco meat.  Long ago, when I was on the Atkins Diet, I realized that prepackaged taco seasoning mixes had more carbs than I liked.  Luckily, my wife is an excellent cook and figured out how to season our own taco meat from scratch.***

So she’ll cook up 2-3 pounds of taco meat and it’s one of the few entrees we can all eat together.  We make Tiny Tacos™ for the kids**** and I make taco salads:

  • 3 cups of your favorite lettuce
  • 3-4 tablespoons of Ken’s Steakhouse Northern Italian Lite salad dressing
  • 1-2 avocados, cut into pieces
  • jalapenos (if desired)
  • salsa
  • a cup or more of taco meat

Quick. Easy. Delicious. The secret is the Italian dressing.  I use it to add a wonderful depth to the flavor of my favorite Tex-Mex dishes.  Give it a try and you might be surprised. 🙂

(If you want to cheat a little, add some sour cream and cheese for added flavor.)

For veggies . . . well, I probably don’t eat enough of them.  When I do eat some, it’s almost always Green Giant Healthy Colors Farmer’s Blend. Yummy!

What do you eat on a regular basis?

=====

Max Capacity Training.  I did MCT Day 26 yesterday and will do Day 27 today.  I am surprisingly not sore from the workouts this week. After each one (M and R), I expected to be aching the next day but haven’t noticed any undo pains.

While I have struggled with the exercises and intensity because of my month off, I take it as a very good sign that I am not hurting the next day as I was at the beginning.

Third verse, same as the first . . . except that Max Capacity Training Day 27 uses a Time Attack protocol.  I will use my normal 10-round approach to Time Attack routines.  Planned totals [(Day 25+ Day 26)*3] for each exercise are in parentheses below.  Actual numbers follow.

  1. High Knee Jumps: (96) 96
  2. Wall Hand Walkouts Plank: (174) 150
  3. 1 Leg Hip Bridge: (117) 125
  4. Invisible Chair: (186) 186

As usual, I’ll post results and a review here this evening.

I deviated from my normal 10-round technique this time.  Doing 60-second stints of he vertical plank and invisible chair, interspersed with my leg bridges and high knee jumps.

This was probably a mistake. Damn am I exhausted.  And I did this while still fasted.

Off to a great Tex-Mex dinner with my wife. =)

=====

Plan for Week 32.

Day Fast? SCD? Run? MCT?
Sunday No Yes No No
Monday Yes (21) Yes Yes No Yes
Tuesday Yes (20) Yes No No
Wednesday Yes (17) Yes Yes No Yes No
Thursday Yes (20) Yes No No Yes
Friday Yes Yes Yes No Yes
Saturday No No Yes No

—–

* When looking over this list, remember that I fast for 20-21 hours most days and my only meal is dinner after I get home from work.  That means the foods I list below do not cover breakfast dishes.  When I do eat breakfast, I eat like pretty much everyone else on a s/low carb diet eats: lots of eggs, lots of bacon and/or sausage, maybe some beans.  I don have some whey protein powder around but I don’t use it much anymore.  It’s still there, however, in case I need an extra jolt of protein.
** I haven’t found one worth using regularly, though Tabasco Steak Sauce is better than most.  If you are having a Free Meal, the Tabasco Caribbean Steak Sauce is pretty darn tasty.
For BBQ sauce, I recommend my low carb BBQ sauce recipe.  It rocks.
** Not that it’s hard (it’s mostly chili powder, cumin, salt, and cayenne) but I wouldn’t have even thought to try making it myself.  Once again, she saves me from the evils of carbs.
*** Take Tostitos Scoops tortilla chips and fill them with taco meat and a bit of cheese.  The kids love ’em because they’re tasty and fun. =)
2 responses to “Day 224 (F, 110812) — My SCD Staples; Max Capacity Training Day 27

  1. A staple for me is grilled hamburger patties. I like the 80/20 chuck. I hand form them and grill over charcoal. I’ll cook up a batch on Sunday night for the week. I also keep a couple of bags of salad blend on hand. Easy peasy meal.

    For breakfast I like fried eggs over easy on top of refried beans with salsa. Very good version of huevos rancheros. Yum.

  2. I usually eat the same 3 meals every day of the week almost. For some reason not having variety doesn’t bother me too much.

    I also do my shopping at Sams Club. I outlined it in a post, but the one near me has 10 lb bags of beans for like $6 – $7. Lots of good deals there. I might look out for some bratwurst next time I go, maybe mix it up a bit 🙂

Leave a comment if you want . . .

