Day 192 (M, 110711) — Max Capacity Training Day 25; Help Finding an Alternative Exercise

Four new exercises for this week, using the now-familiar pattern: M = 50-10, W = Tabata, F = Time Attack.

I’ve thought about an alternative to the Wall Hand Walkout but have been unable to find one.  Long story short, I’m not sure I can do it for reasons other than arm strength.

If you have any suggestions about an exercise I can use instead, I am really ready to hear them.  Thoughts?1

My brother and his family are in town and I will be spending some good family time together with them today after work; this means I won’t do this workout until late tonight.

(Which in turn means you have a bit of time to come up with suggestions ;-)).

  • High Knee Jumps:
  • Wall Hand Walkout:
  • 1 Leg Hip Bridge:
  • Invisible Chair:

 

[workout review placeholder]

Got home too late so no workout tonight.  If I can work it in tomorrow morning, I will but I would not count on it.

I am considering beginning my 2 Week Break as of yesterday.  I had an unscheduled Free Meal last night.   I had another tonight with my brother.

I think it might be easier to just call this the beginning of the break than to try to go back and reset and “do this week right.”

=====

Had a dog run up and step on my heels this morning as I ran.  Scared the jeebus out of me.  I was wiiiiiiiiiide awake after that. >=|

Stats for today:

  • Distance: 5.90 mi
  • Duration: 1:12:56
  • Average Pace: 12:21 / mi
  • Average Speed: 4.86 mph
  • Calories Burned: 910
  • Elevation Climb: 307 ft

Strangely, that same mile was my best split for the morning.  I wonder if there’s a connection here….. 😉

=====

I had an extra Free Meal on last night and tonight.  I took some Cissus but that was all the Damage Control I did.  Stupid.

=====

Plan for Week 28:

Day Fast? SCD? Run? MCT?
Sunday No Yes No2 No No
Monday No Yes No2 Yes (5.90) Yes
Tuesday No Yes No No
Wednesday Yes Yes Yes Yes
Thursday Yes Yes No No
Friday No Yes Yes Yes
Saturday No No Yes No

—–

1 It doesn’t have to duplicate the exact same muscles used, etc.  Just something which seems like it would be a good exercises to do if I can’t do this one. Thanks.
2 I had an extra Free Meal on this night.  I ate slow carb until dinner came around and then . . . not so much. I took some Cissus but that was all the Damage Control I did.  Stupid.
2 responses to “Day 192 (M, 110711) — Max Capacity Training Day 25; Help Finding an Alternative Exercise

  1. Hi John,

    I’m the guy who made the MCT site. A friend of mind reads your blog regularly and referred me to this post. First of all, congratulations on your progress! You’re doing an awesome job. Not a lot of people make it to Week 8, so good on you for keeping strong!

    I’ve seen your numbers and I think you’re strong enough to do the wall hand walkouts. I urge you to at least try them during your warm up. If you’re not feeling confident, then you can try just holding a handstand position. Walk yourself up (or pivot yourself) into a handstand and hold it for as long as possible. Don’t try to be a hero: if you feel like your arms are failing, roll back down to earth, take a rest and do it again until the 50 seconds are up. You’ll need to get comfortable with this upside-down position to complete the last week of MCT. When I was first introduced to it, being upside down made me sneeze uncontrollably. Good times!

    I’m excited to see how this workout turns out and I’d love to see you go all the way ’til the end. Tell you what, if you finish the whole program fair and square, I’ll send you a little something as a token of appreciation 😉

    • Thanks for coming by and commenting, Samy. I appreciate your taking the time to give me the suggestion and encouragement.

      I love your workouts. That Tabata protocol kills me every time, but I always feel great . . . a few hours later. 😉

      The problem I have with the wall hand walkouts, and other head-down maneuvers, is that I get really uncomfortable when I am upside down. Not uncomfortable as in “well this is unpleasant” but uncomfortable as in “I fricking hate this and will not do it for more than a few seconds and that’s only if my kids’ lives depend on it.” That sort of “uncomfortable.” My head pounds, my ears ring, my eyes get blurry. I don’t think it’s dangerous (like some sort of aneurysm or something) but definitely not worth it in all but the most extreme situations.

      Which, unfortunately, also rules out the “do it as a handstand” version……

      I’m not afraid of the movements in terms of strength, though I doubt I would be able to do it well very many times. It’s that I just don’t think I can stand to be upside down like that for more than a few seconds before I saw screw it and come back down.

      If you reread today’s (updated) post or take a look at tomorrow’s, you’ll see that I did not get to workout 25 today and may end up taking a 2 Week Diet (and Exercise Program) Break starting as of yesterday (Sunday).

      Even so, I do plan to go all the way to the end with your program. I may not do the inverted exercises, but if not, I promise I’ll find something suitably challenging to substitute. You’ll see it detailed on the blog, of course.

      Thanks for the encouragement. And thanks for the kick ass program, Samy. You rock. =)

Leave a comment if you want . . .

