Day 185 (M, 110704) — How Do You Deal With Weakness?; Max Capacity Training Day 22

I really am feeling weak right now.

I don’t seem to want to care if I eat well or not.  I feel like it’s too hard to be good.  I had a Free Day Saturday, ate like crap, and felt terrible and sleepy because of it.

I fasted on Sunday until 4 PM and then had what amounted to another Free Day, even if it was 7 hours long rather than 16.  Yesterday, again, I ate like crap and felt bad for it.

This morning my alarm went off at 5 and I let myself go back to bed.  I told myself, “I’ll let my body decide if I should run this morning or not.”  When I woke up again at 5:40, after only dozing a bit, I got up and went.

I know that part of my lethargy was the Benadryl I took for my allergies before bed. . . .

Aside: Hey, you know what?  I took some Benadryl on Saturday and Sunday, too so maybe that contributed to my problems this weekend.  Still, I am not looking for excuses so let’s continue this intervention, shall we?

Anyway, I got up at 5:40, got dressed, and finally headed out about ten ’til six.

I ran a bit more than my usual weekday route.  I was planning to do my full weekend course but decided not to in case the kids were up and pestering my wife; I figured if I got home sooner, I could help salvage a bit of sleep for her.

Stats for this morning’s run:

  • Distance: 6.61 mi
  • Duration: 1:16:38
  • Average Pace: 11:36 / mi
  • Average Speed: 5.17 mph
  • Calories Burned: 1004
  • Elevation Climb: 331 ft

Anyway, I’m rambling today.  My logorrhea is not what you are looking for.

I guess my point is: how do you deal with weakness?

I really want to just give it up.

[Interrupt for life; returning several hours later…]

I’m feeling a bit better now. I took my family to a couple of Fourth of July parades and have eaten good SCD food. I’m much more centered now….

Please ignore the whiny crap above.

=====

Later today I’ll do Max Capacity Training Day 22 and post my results.

  • Crocodile Pushups: 19
  • Deck Squat Jumps: 10
  • 1 Leg Wall Squat: 35
  • Jack Knives: 28

Following the same pattern as last week, I’ll do these four exercises for all three workouts.  What will change is the timing protocol: 50-10, then Tabata, then Time Attack.

Heavy on the chest and arms today, but they added in the Jack Knives to hit the shoulders. That was nice.  The 1-legged wall squats sucked!!

=====

Plan (and Reality) for Week 27:

Day Fast? SCD? Run? MCT?
Sunday Yes No No No
Monday Yes No Yes Yes (6.61) Yes
Tuesday Yes Yes No No
Wednesday Yes Yes Yes Yes
Thursday Yes Yes No No
Friday Yes Yes Yes Yes
Saturday No No Yes No

BTW, I changed my planned runs this week to be on MWF, just like my MCT workouts.

3 responses to “Day 185 (M, 110704) — How Do You Deal With Weakness?; Max Capacity Training Day 22

  1. It’s been tough for me too. Last night had a few fries and chicken nuggets. Just hungry after my dinner. Planning a free meal tonight – we made three salsas and are watching fireworks from the deck. I’ll try to keep it to a dull roar. Back on track tomorrow with a big workout.

    Happy fourth! Warm wishes to your wife!

  2. Pingback: Day 186 (T, 110705) — Another Word About Weakness | New John for a New Year·

Leave a comment if you want . . .

