Day 178 (M, 110627) — Plan for Week 26, Max Capacity Training Day 19

Yesterday I took an extra Free Day.  I’m not sure why other than I didn’t feel like being good.  I didn’t do my Damage Control other than to start the day with an SCD breakfast. It sucks but I did it to myself and now have to live with, or try to undo, the consequences.

I will work hard the rest of the week and I hope I manage to eke out another loss to end of an otherwise great month.  We shall see.

I am starting a new habit in my posts this morning: at the end of each post I’ll include the table of my plans for the week and any notes about success or failure to live up to those plans.

Also, this week marks six months since I started the 4 Hour Body program.  I will muse a bit on what I have learned in the past 180 days in the next few days . . . but that can wait until tomorrow.

=====

Stats for today:

  • Distance: 5.75 mi
  • Duration: 1:13:28
  • Average Pace: 12:47 / mi
  • Average Speed: 4.70 mph
  • Calories Burned: 929
  • Elevation Climb: 296 ft

No supplements before running this morning though I did get my semi-usual double espresso halfway through.  I felt heavy and tired this morning, more so after I finished than during the run.  Odd, that, especially given that my splits got better as the run went on….

I do not often run on days when I have an MCT workout planned but I want to push myself to finish June with as much mileage under my feet (so to speak) as I can.  I set a personal best on Saturday, upping my monthly total for June to 68.5 miles.

Counting today’s run, I am up to 74.3 miles and I want to see just how high I can push that number before June ends on Thursday.  If I can do almost six miles per day, I should go over 90 for the month.  That would be really cool and give me a new goal for July: 100 miles.

Of course, given that I have two sons due any time now, all this planning may well be for naught and we may see a significant decrease in running and exercise for July.  I hope not but, realistically, I expect that may be true.

=====

Today’s Max Capacity Training workout, Day 19, is going to suck.  I’ll do the following four exercises in a 50-10 protocol:

  • Burpees: 11
  • Cross Hops: 15
  • Cliff Scalers: 15
  • Incline Dips: 25

Burpees are bogeyman . . . the exercise old trainers use to scare novices like myself.  Spoken of in hushed whispers around the campfire late at night, burpees are the most painful experience any of the old-timers care to share about their early training-hoods.

I’m sure the other exercises will hurt just as much.  I’ll let you know when I get done….

Wow was that tough on my tris.  Two exercises had push-ups and the last was dips.  Daaaaamn.  Ouch.

This is gonna suck come Wednesday when I have to do the same exercises with a Tabata protocol.  Ugh!

=====

Plan for Week 26:

Day Fast? SCD? Run? MCT?
Sunday No Yes (Fail)1 Yes No
Monday Yes Yes Yes (5.75) Yes
Tuesday Yes Yes Yes No
Wednesday Yes Yes Yes Yes
Thursday Yes Yes Yes No
Friday Yes Yes No Yes
Saturday No No Yes No

1) I took an extra Free Day yesterday for no good reason.

2 responses to “Day 178 (M, 110627) — Plan for Week 26, Max Capacity Training Day 19

Leave a comment if you want . . .

