Day 172 (T, 110621) — How Do You Do Intermittent Fasting?

Intermittent Fasting.  Yesterday, I had a commenter ask about how I approach breaking my fast after intermittent fasting:

So are you basically eating once a day? Or are you eating for several hours in the evening?

I eat a big SCD meal when I get home around 5 or 6 PM.  For example, last night day I ate:

  • ~2 cups of refried beans and salsa
  • An 10-oz steak with sauce made of mayo + Louisiana hot sauce
  • Half a bag of Green Giant Healthy Colors Market Blend vegetables
  • A large salad (3 cups worth or so) of romaine lettuce, 6-7 pepperoncinis, real bacon bits, and Ken’s Steakhouse Creamy Caesar dressing
  • Diet Barq’s root beer

I usually eat a snack later on between 8 and 9 PM.  Maybe some salami slices, a spoonful or two of all-natural peanut butter, an Atkins bar (rarely), some almonds, or something else along those lines. The snack is generally pretty small.

The feeding window is about 4 hours or so but the vast majority of food is consumed in one big meal.

In the interest of full disclosure, I did go ff SCD a bit last night: two small cubes of cheese in the salad and 1/3 of a single dark chocolate Dove nugget. 😉

Question of the Day.  How do you break your fast following IF?

=====

Stats for my run this morning:

  • Distance:
  • Duration:
  • Average Pace:
  • Average Speed:
  • Calories Burned:
  • Elevation Climb:

Damn.  Rained too much this morning and I couldn’t go out.  I woke up, but the lightning convinced me that maybe it would not be a good idea to venture into the night.

3 responses to “Day 172 (T, 110621) — How Do You Do Intermittent Fasting?

  1. I usually eat once a day not counting my morning protein shake. Big meal around lunchtime: 10 – 12 oz of meat, 2 eggs, large piles of broccoli and beans. (pinto & black mixed) Sometimes if I know I’m gonna have an exhausting day (workouts, etc) I’ll eat a 2nd smaller meal but try to keep it within 5 hrs of the other meal.

    Lots of water throughout the day helps keep me from getting hungry or snacking.

  2. Wow, that’s a lot of food. I have decided to try 16 hour fasts, 6 days a week. I want to fast more than I have been but I’m going to try shorter periods of time. I’ll basically eat lunch and dinner every day and skip breakfast. I’ve done this two days this week and it has been very easy. We’ll see if there’s a difference come Saturday morning.

    I tried a Healthy Colors medley tonight, cauliflower, sugar snap peas, carrots and cranberries. It was really tasty if you skipped the cauliflower. 😉

    • My pesonal favorite is the Farmer’s Blend. The cranberries make it YUMMY!

      I hope the 16-6 split works well for you. So far, the 20-4 and 21-3 split s working for me.

      I do eat a lot in my feeding period but it is far fewer calories overall than if I ate two or three meals during the day. And, so far, I’ve felt fine. I’ve had only occassional hunger pangs and those are easily handled with Poor Man’s Hot and Sour Soup.

Leave a comment if you want . . .

