Day 162 (Sa, 110611) — Results for Week 23; Is Barefoot Running “The Answer”?

After a darn good week both for both food and exercise, I decided to weigh in on Saturday this week instead of Sunday.  Let’s go to the tape…

Date Weight BF% BF #
Week 00: 110101 228.5 29.7 67.9
Week 22: 110605 202.2 25.4 51.3
Week 23: 110611 201.9 25.3 50.9
Δ from last -0.3 -0.1
-0.4
Δ from start -26.6 -4.4 -17.0

110611 Results Graphs

I am happy with this — no gain, continued loss, I feel good, I look good (according to comments I received this past week) . . . a good week for me. =)

UPDATE: New pics on my Results page.

=====

I went running in my new shoes today.  Stats for today:

  • Distance: 8.22 mi
  • Duration: 1:31:14
  • Average Pace: 11:06 / mi
  • Average Speed: 5.41 mph
  • Calories Burned: 1379
  • Elevation Climb: 485 ft

Wednesday I ran 4.41 miles at an 11:30 min/mi pace and considered that a good run.  Today I go 86% farther and lower my min/mi by 30 seconds.  My best mile was #3 with a 10 minute flat pace.  Not a bad outing.

It was my second run in my new shoes.  I think I like them. 😉

=====

Speaking of new shoes, is barefoot running a panacea?  A cure-all for all what ails ya?

I know many people who think so.   Based on my personal experience, however, I am not convinced.

It seems to me that the jury is still out on this and, as with most things, barefoot running is not some unalloyed good which is The Answer™ for everyone everywhere.

Here’s an article from the NYT which agrees.

Are We Built to Run Barefoot?

Does barefoot running increase or decrease skeletal injury risk?

“The answer,” said Dr. Stuart J. Warden, an associate professor of physical therapy at Indiana University, “is that it probably does both.”

…it would seem as if running barefoot should certainly be better for the body, because less pounding should mean less wear and tear. But there are problems with that theory….Even when a barefoot runner has developed what would seem to be ideal form, the force generated may be unfamiliar to the body and potentially injurious….shifting to a forefoot running style, as people do when running barefoot, may lessen your risk for a stress fracture, and up your chances of developing a muscle strain or tendinitis.

So where does all of this new science leave the runner who’s been considering whether to ditch the shoes? The “evidence is not concrete for or against barefoot or shod running.”

Go read it all.  IMO, barefoot running is a good option for many people.  However, if you are not having troubles with your current style of running, it is not necessary to make the switch.

YMMV. 😉

Have a GREAT SATURDAY! =D

3 responses to “Day 162 (Sa, 110611) — Results for Week 23; Is Barefoot Running “The Answer”?

  1. Way to keep the needle moving! I checked out your new photo. Dang! Looking pretty good. I took some photos a few weeks ago. Still trying to decide if I want to post one. Wish I had taken one when I started. Keep up the good work. You’re an inspiration!

Leave a comment if you want . . .

