Day 146 (R, 110526) — Combining Fasting, Jack3d + Purple Wraath = WIN

In the past few weeks I have combined elements of both EatStopEat fasting (1 or 2 24-hour fasts in a week) with some LeanGains fasting (days of 16 hours fasts with 8 hour feeding periods).

A frequent commenter to my blog, Justin from My Four Hour Body, asked, “I am wondering if mixing up the fasting protocols is counter productive for you.”

Is mixing the programs counterproductive?  I don’t think so.

All other things being equal, the danger lies in two temptations: (a) taking extra liberties with my diet because I am doing both (“Wow, look how good I am being.  I can eat this extra box of Twinkies and I’m sure it won’t make a difference, right?!”) and (b) allowing myself to become so hungry that I overdo planned Free Meals.

If these two related concerns are accounted for and properly avoided, I think that mixing the two programs should be a net benefit. What do you think?*

=====

I fasted 17 hours yesterday until 1 PM and then had a normal SCD meal.  That evening I had a planned Free Meal, eating 2/3 of a Double Mega Extreme Cheeseburger with no bun, some ice cream, cake, etc.  It was yummy . . . and planned . . . and I did my Damage Control around it.

I waited a while and took care of some stuff around the house, then I did my MCT Day 5 workout and felt good after.  Good stuff.

=====

This morning, I got up at 4:05 AM, drank some Purple Wraath and Jack3d and went for a run.  My glute felt much better today.  Stats for today:

  • Distance: 5.85 mi
  • Duration: 1:14:04
  • Average Pace: 12:39 / mi
  • Average Speed: 4.74 mph
  • Calories Burned: 876
  • Elevation Climb: 285 ft

I have to say that, off all the supplements I have tried, I think that the combination of Purple Wraath and Jack3d is the one which most lives up to the hype.

I did not drink this cocktail on Tuesday when I ran.  Instead I had two scoops of whey protein before heading out.  Today, my energy was much higher and the numbers above show it.

While Tuesday was hampered a bit by my glute’s feeling of having been strained in the days before, I could really feel the difference today.  In addition to physically having more energy, I felt better mentally as well: tougher, stronger, more determined to make this one a great workout.

YMMV but this combo is one I recommend above all the others I’ve tried.

=====

Breakfast @ 4:10 AM:  two scoops Jack3d and two scoops of BCAAs in water; one shot of espresso in the middle of my run

Lunch @ 1 PM: (will be) Green Giant Valley Fresh Steamers Healthy Colors Farmer’s Blend with carrots, cauliflower, sugar snap peas, and dried cranberries in a light butter sauce.

Dinner @ 6 PM: (answer uncertain, ask again later)

Other food throughout the day: water, coffee

—–

* This was my problem last week, I think.  I exercised so much and fasted some and ended up eating way too much and making poor choices when I did eat. This week is different and I already feel like it is a “skinny week.”  The proof will come when I weigh in this weekend.  We shall see.
Now if I could only string together two or more of these skinny week in succession, then  we’d see something remarkable. =)
2 responses to “Day 146 (R, 110526) — Combining Fasting, Jack3d + Purple Wraath = WIN

  1. Dear John:
    Your perserverance is astounding.
    There’s no doubt in my mind you will win this.
    Jealous! But also motivated to get off my a#$% in light of what you have achieved.
    Hope I can catch up to you before year end.
    Caren

Leave a comment if you want . . .

