Day 132 (R, 110512) — How to Not Think About Food?

Distraction . . . I’ve read that is a key part of fasting and I believe it.

Monday, I (unintentionally) fasted for 20 hours.  Why?  Something came up which required my attention so I was able to not think about food for a while.

How do I know this was effective?  Because prior to my urgent task, I had been thinking about food a lot and it wasn’t much fun at all.  I was hours earlier in the fast and really looking forward to 1 PM when I would hit the LG 16-hour fast mark and I planned to eat.

When I got busy and could not spare a moment to think about the food I was going to have soon, my hunger disappeared and did not return until I was at home and could finally get something healthy to eat.

So, my question for you is:

  • How do you distract yourself from food? 
  • What tactics and techniques do you use to keep yourself occupied so that you don’t think about your next meal?

=====

This morning was my fourteenth Workout B (legs and chest):

  1. Leg press
  2. Chest press
  3. Running

See my note from Tuesday about working out this week.

=====

Another good article from SparkPeople: The Mix ‘N Match Workout – The No-Brainer Way to Add Variety to Your Program

This article offers you an easy way to keep your workouts varied, interesting, and effective.  Give it a look.

=====

Breakfast @ 5:45 AM:  two scoops of whey protein powder in water

Lunch @ 11 AM: fajitas with my wife at La Hacienda

La Hacienda Ranch is a chain in NoTex in north Dallas, Frisco, Carrollton, and Colleyville (near DFW airport).  If you are in the DFW area and like Tex-Mex food, they are one of the best around.*  Though you might be able to enjoy more of their menu if you go on a Free Day. 😉

Try the Whole Enchilada: a 20” platter with 3 enchiladas (cheese, chicken, beef), crispy beef taco, soft chicken taco, soft cheese taco, and a guacamole tostada.  Delicious and MORE than enough for two to split.

Dinner @ 5 PM: the rest of my fajitas, refried beans, salami, the other half of my roast chicken from yesterday, some sugar-free jello and a bit of light Redi Whip . . . now to start my second 24-hour fast……

Other food throughout the day: water, coffee

—–

* Of course, nothing beats Desperados but hey, I can’t always make it to one of their locations.  IF you ever get a chance to make it there, do it!  Try the Steak Argentina (excellent steak covered with an incredible chimichuri sauce) and you will fall in love.

7 responses to “Day 132 (R, 110512) — How to Not Think About Food?

  1. John, you’re as bad as those ladies magazines with pictures of yummy desserts on the cover and a headline about the latest diet craze. You ask how do you not think about food and then go on to describe a fantastic Tex-Mex platter. Next time put a warning up! LOL

    • Too funny, LC. =)

      The nice thing about Tex-Mex places is that fajitas fit well within S/low Carb diets.

      And if you have a Free Meal or Day coming up, well, there ain’t nuthin’ better on the planet. =D

  2. When I’m up that way, Babe’s Chicken Dinner is the place for me. Unfortunately, I’m never up there on a Saturday.

    • Well, if you’re ever in the mood for Tex-Mex, Desperados and LaHa are tough to beat.

      I’ll have to check Babe’s out. Looking at their menu, I bet they can serve a pretty good SCD meal.

      Thanks for the recommendation. =)

  3. Mmm, Tex Mex from Dallas. The memories. My favorite place to go in Dallas is still Del Frisco’s. Call me old fashioned.

    I am reading your foray into IF with entertainment, recalling an early post where you talked about how annoyed your wife was getting having to cook random special things for you as you jumped from diet program to diet program. She must LOVE fast days – one less mouth to feed! 🙂

    BTW, I am playing around with IF also, but more the LG variety. I did two on Monday and Tuesday (had a rehearsal Monday night and two school meetings on Tuesday night, so easy to just feed the kids and get out of the house without bothering to feed me). Last night I did not “fast” per se, but I did have just a small cobb salad with no dressing at TGIF (what am I doing at TGIF – ah, yes. The kids menu and balloons) and a glass of pinot. Idea is eat earlier and less. Can I get some of the IF benefits? Some. Certainly fewer calories. Anyway.

    Combined with my current push to exercise, I am getting some startling results.

    • Surpisingly, I’ve never been to Del Frisco’s. Always meant to go but just never made it. Someday I’ll have to feast there. =)

      I will be fasting from 6 PM tonight to 6 PM tomorrow. Then off to Love and War in Texas to enjoy a Free Meal with my honey.

      Next week, I know one of my fasting days will be Tuesday evening into Wednesday. I have a baseball game to go to with my girls and my friends.

      Keep up the exercise and the fasting/SCD. =)

  4. Pingback: Day 133 (F, 110513) — 50 Ways to Distract Yourself While Fasting | New John for a New Year·

Leave a comment if you want . . .

