Day 126 (F, 110506) — VFHD Day 6, Sometimes You’re Smart…

Day 6 of the Veggies From Hell diet (VFHD).

Sometimes I can be smart.  Like when I . . . er . . . well, I’ll remember something to put here soon, I’m sure.  Sometimes, however, I’m not so smart.

Jack - the Skate Master

Jack - the Skate Master

Yesterday, I took the kids roller skating.  Smart.

This morning as I get ready to run, my ankle felt tight, sort of bloated and sore a bit.  I went anyway, trusting that, if I went slowly and took it easy, it would work itself out and, if it didn’t, I could always stop and walk home.  Stupid.

Sure enough, it worked itself out and I felt fine after about half a mile or so.

Then I got home and stopped running; this, I am convinced, was my mistake.  If only I’d just kept running, I’d have been fine (other than never getting to see my family again except in [literal] passing and eventually losing my job for lack of showing up).

More seriously, now I have tweaked my ankle Achilles Tendon and will not be able to run tomorrow.  I can only hope that, by wrapping it and taking it easy this weekend, I can heal and be ready for running again next Tuesday when I go to my next workout.

I should have listened to my body.  I did not.  Don’t make my mistake.

Whatever it is that you are wanting to do for your health isn’t important enough to injure yourself, even slightly as I have.  Your injury will retard your progress and harm your health more than your planned activity would help.

=====

As I mentioned above, I ran this morning.  The weather was nice: upper-50s and just the most gentle of breezes.  I took a shorter route and went a bit faster than yesterday which was nice.  I wish I hadn’t.  (See above, again.)

  • Distance: 4.06 mi
  • Duration: 0:54:48
  • Average Pace: 13:31 / mi
  • Average Speed: 4.44 mph
  • Calories Burned: 597
  • Elevation Climb: 171 ft
  • Splits:
    mi Pace (min/mi) Elevation (ft)
    1 13:16 -12
    2 12:42 11
    3 14:15 8
    4 13:42 -8

The pace is about in line with my four most recent runs (back to April 29), but it felt faster.

Other than the ankle thing, I felt much better this morning, despite getting only six hours of sleep.

Unfortunately for my report on the effects of this diet on energy levels, I took some Purple Wraath BCAAs and some Jack3d prior to heading out, so they probably effected my energy levels and maybe my mood.  I can say, however, that despite the lack of proper sleep I did feel better upon waking and getting out of bed.  So that’s something, anyway.

=====

Meal #0 @ 4 AM: I took one scoop of Purple Wraath BCAAs and one scoop of Jack3d prior to running.  This was my first day using these two supplements.

While I did not feel the sort “rush” or “high” that others have reported, I used only the recommended minimum initial dose.  Perhaps a full 2-3 scoops of one or the other, or both, might have produced the supposed effects; I don’t know, though I have my doubts.  I’ll report again next time I give it a shot (probably next Tuesday for my workout).

=====

Meal #1 @ 5:30 AM:  When I got home from running, I had some Healthy Colors Valley Blend with carrots, broccoli, and  golden cauliflower in a garlic butter sauce.About 100 calories, 3g fat, 20g carbs, and 2.5g protein.  I also had a protein shake for, well, protein.

On the way to work, I drank a GT’s Trilogy kombucha: 60 calories, 0 fat, 4 carbs (naturally occurring sugars), and 0 protein.

=====

Meal #2 @ 11:30 AM: Great Value Deluxe Asian Stir Fry mix: 150 calories, 0g fat, 24g carbs (12 fiber, 12 sugars), and 6g protein.  Plus 3.5 ounces of chicken breast for protein.

=====

Meal #3 @ 3 PM:  Great Value Deluxe Asian Stir Fry mix: 150 calories, 0g fat, 24g carbs (12 fiber, 12 sugars), and 6g protein.  Plus 3.5 ounces of chicken breast for protein.

=====

Meal #4 @ 8 PM: Well hells, I wasn’t planning on it but tonight was a Free Meal.  Darn it, there goes a (relatively) pure test of the VFHD.  I did my Damage Control but I did cheat: pizza, ice cream, kolaches, etc.

I’m really glad I ran this morning (at least in terms of taking a Free Meal).  I’m also glad I am not weighing in until Sunday.  Oh well.  I had a nice time with my in-laws and family.  And I refuse to beat myself up too much about it. =P

=====

Other food throughout the day: coffee, tons of water

2 responses to “Day 126 (F, 110506) — VFHD Day 6, Sometimes You’re Smart…

  1. Pingback: Day 127 (Sa, 110507) — VFHD Day 7, The Last Day | New John for a New Year·

  2. Pingback: Day 128 (Su, 110508) — Veggies From Hell Diet Results | New John for a New Year·

Leave a comment if you want . . .

