Day 103 (W, 110413) — Hunger

How do you handle hunger that won’t go away?

Last night, I was hungry.  I wanted to eat everything.  I devoured:

  • 17 Buffalo Wild Wings hot wings
  • a big bowl of refried beans and salsa
  • a tablespoon or two of all natural peanut butter
  • some sugar-free jello
  • some cashews and almonds
  • a double protein shake
  • three slices of salami
  • and probably a few more things I can’t remember

I also drank about 2 liters of water.

About the only thing I often use to curb hunger that I didn’t try was a big slab of ham . . . and that was only because we didn’t have any.

Despite all my munching, I just couldn’t get over the feeling of being hungry.

I have no idea what caused this.   I had a good-sized lunch yesterday and my normal breakfast.  Looking back at my day, I can’t figure out why nothing seemed to satisfy me last night.

Sometimes, when I feel like eating, I can trace it back to being bored and not coming up with something else to do.  Last night I was busy with several things (like homeschooling lessons with the kids) so that doesn’t seem to be the answer here.

I feel better this morning but it was really weird last night.

Anybody else ever experience this?

=====

Breakfast: protein shake, kombucha, AGG

Lunch: steak, veggies Cissus, AGG

Lunch 110413

Dinner: Reply hazy, try again

Other food throughout the day: black coffee

5 responses to “Day 103 (W, 110413) — Hunger

    • Thanks for the suggestion but I don’t think that covers it.

      The Mud Run could be described as a six-mile run with a bit of exercise thrown in. Not dissimilar from what I do when I get up early and jog to my workouts.

      Still pondering…..

      New John

  1. I get these too, usually tortilla chips (now switched to quinoa crackers) and salsa until im bloated, then pound back a liter of water. Sometimes that does it, most the time it doesn’t though.

    I just read a really good post by Chat Waterbury on his site on what order to eat food http://chadwaterbury.com/3-nutritional-tricks-to-lose-fat/
    1. Take Fiber 30 Minutes Before Your Meals
    2. Drink Room Temperature Water 10 Minutes Before You Eat
    3. Eat a High Fiber, High Water Food First

    I tried this yesterday, I don’t eat much during the day and I binge at diner a lot. I was really hungry but tried to only eat veggies. I ate a plate full of asparagus and cucumber. Then about an hour later had diner with my family and was full really quickly, it was satiety that I don’t usually get at diner.

    Good Luck.

    • Not sure I can find a tortilla chip which fits in the 4HB framework, Justin. 😉 =D

      Are quinoa crackers good? I’ve never tried it but I had a friend tell me quinoa tastes really bad.

      And thanks for the reminder about fiber. Considering my food last night, I guess I sorta counted on the beans and salsa to provide the fiber I needed.

      Maybe I can work these tips into my routine if this feeling comes up again.

      Cheers!

      New John

      • Haha, no tortilla chips are not 4HB, I cheat too much 😦

        I forgot to summarize and say if you feel a binge coming … load up your plate with veggies. Beans have lots of fiber but I don’t think they have as much water content as most veggies.

Leave a comment if you want . . .

