Day Sixty-seven (T, 110308) — No Sweeteners, Protein Q. (Hemp v Whey)

My mission this week is to restart my weight loss by adhering strictly to the program and eliminating the “system gaming” I’ve been using which has, I think, lead to my stall.

I committed to four specific things I am going to do this week and will discuss one each day through Friday.  Today’s topic: no diet sodas or sweeteners.

So it’s been two days since I had any artificial sweeteners or diet sodas.  It’s been a bit rough but certainly doable.  A commenter on FB mentioned that when he stopped using artificial sweeteners, his cravings for sweets subsided as well.

This seems to be happening for me as well.  I had a bit of a twinge of sweet-tooth last night but was able to fight it off.  Overall though, while I still would like to have my coffee sweetened or grab a Coke Zero, I don’t feel a true urge to do so.  This is a good thing. 😉

What I have been wanting is kombucha.  I really like this stuff.  The slight vinegar taste and natural carbonation is really good.

But it’s expensive.  Three dollars a bottle is the best price I’ve found.  I may have to see if I can make my own kombucha.  I just like it so much but can’t justify the expense.  This program already costs enough when you count the supplements and extra protein.

=======

Speaking of supplements, I found some whey protein at Whole Foods yesterday: Solgar Whey to Go Natural Vanilla Flavor.  20g protein. Less than 1g sugars.

The strawberry and chocolate versions had 9g sugars so I steered clear of them.

It tastes like . . . well, mostly like nothing.  Might as well be gelatin.  It is supposed to be a “natural vanilla flavor” and I can smell the vanilla just slightly in the powder, but the flavor is almost nonexistent.  It’s sort of unpleasant but, since I can drink it down in 3-4 gulps, it’s not the end of the world.

I am curious about one thing, however . . . the label specifically says: “Use this product as a food supplement only. Do NOT use for weight reduction.”

Anyone know why it would say that?

I saw some hemp protein on the shelves. Does any body have any experience with or knowledge about hemp v whey protein? I’d appreciate advice on the topic.

Finally, I also bought some MRM Whey Protein in chocolate and strawberry flavors because they had ultra-low sugar counts (1g each).  Then, when I got home, I looked at the ingredients again and saw that they have stevia in them.  Since I am 100% off sweeteners of any kind this week, I have set those aside and may try them next week.  We’ll see.

=======

Breakfast: three scrambled eggs, refried beans, two sausage, ice water, kombucha, whey protein powder drink, AGG

Lunch: sausage and sauerkraut, AGG, water

Dinner: Chipotle burrito bowl with pinto beans, black beans, double steak, lettuce, pico, guacamole, and salsa

Other items through the day: coffee, black x 2, a second kombucha drink, some yerba mate tea

4 responses to “Day Sixty-seven (T, 110308) — No Sweeteners, Protein Q. (Hemp v Whey)

  1. Nice idea to pick a topic of the day. Helps to focus the discussion. I think the artificial sweetener issue may be a big one. He has a section in the SCD II chapter of common mistakes, and lists this as one. On the Kombucha topic, I am drinking the Yogi green tea kombucha, and like it. Not bothering with black (yuk) coffee anymore. Good stuff. Not cheap. Keep up the great work, and hang in there!

    • It’s been the one big change I have avoided. Truthfully, I thought it would be much harder than it has turned out to be (so far).

      I love the kombucha but can’t afford to spend $3-6 a day on it. I never got into a Starbucks habit so it’s not like I could just switch that money from one to the other. I just can see justifying spending $90-180 a month on something which I like but for which the health benefits are claimed but unproven.

      Take it easy and thanks! =)

  2. Hey John,

    I did a post on artificial sweeteners a couple weeks ago too, have links to a bunch of studies and things I read here http://www.myfourhourbodydiary.com/2011/02/24/diet-soda-good-bad-or-deadly/ Personally I try to stay away from the stuff just because there is no definitive answer if it is good or bad.

    For the hemp vs whey protein, usually protein supplements other then whey are used by people that have issues with milk products and lactose, or are vegan. They usually do not have as much protein in them and are much more expensive. I bought some soy protein once, it was gross and grainy.

    The reason that they for weight loss is because that is not what it is for. It is design for muscle gain, two very different things although they can be related. I am guessing that they are trying to stress that it is not a meal replacement as it does not have all of the macronutrients required.

    Good Luck and keep up the hard work.

    Justin

    • Thanks for the info, Justin. Since I am only using the protein powder to supplement my protein intake, and not as a meal replacement, I don’t think it is a big deal. It only has 90 calories per scoop so it’s not adding too many but it is giving me a nice protein boost in the morning, over and above what I get from the eggs, sausage or bacon, and beans.

      Thanks again! =)

Leave a comment if you want . . .

